top of page
  • motherserpentine

Deck Review: The Wild Unknown Tarot

Kim Krans

Harper Collins, 2016

ISBN: 978-0-06-234935-7



The Wild Unknown couldn't be a better name for this deck. Kim Krans has taken time to fully illustrate both the majors and the pips with imagery drawn from the natural world. Her raw but accurate freehand style, with sharp, scratchy monotone, and bright loose rainbow accents have made it an enormous hit, with new and old readers being led to work with the striking deck.


It took me a while to join the bandwagon, but now I myself work with the full sized version, and also have a pocket version that comes in a tin. I love a tin!



So before I begin, let me tell you about my own relationship with this deck. It wasn't love at first sight, that's for sure. For 5 years ish it seemed to be a deck that everyone had. If I was teaching a class, the student had it. Every woman I knew had this deck! And while the appeal was clear to me, it also frustrated me, because I really like learners to be able to read their deck without a guide, and good luck with that here!


Eventually, my brother gave me his copy. And I was pleased to possess the irresistible cards. But when I tried it out, that was it. Love. It's not a deck I use professionally, but I like to use it in my own personal readings, as it connects well with the animistic side of my practise, and bring up clear messages that relate to meditative work I do, in a way which no other deck does. The readings are clear, concise, and grounded. They get right to the core of your humanity, your soul and your inner world.



The cards are slightly large, somewhere bigger than a typical Rider Waite card and smaller than a typical oracle card. They shuffle nicely, and have a nice smooth, sheer coating. The box alone is quite simply exquisite, and looks beautiful on a shelf, having a gothic intruige to it.


Kim Krans is a mystic through and through, and has studied various mystical and magical pathways, as well as psychotherapy and creativity. She is also transparent about her own lived experience of anxiety, and the relief that art and spirituality bring her. This is a cocktail for the ideal tarot creator, able to understand the symbolic language of the tarot, and of the psyche, and to communicate this through art.


Because of all the stuff I said above, the artwork hits home. It's not blindingly obvious what each card means, so for that reason I wouldn't recommend learning with this deck-- it is either a deck for a confident reader or for someone who doesn't mind using the book with it. But once you know what the cards mean, it really brings each card to life . The emotions are vivid, the creatures full of character and expression. Krans draws completely freehand, in a radical and frantic way. She gets the lines down, and trusts her capabilities. The animals she draws are just wonderful, each showing their own nature, their confidence. There is a real dignity about them. Not every card has an animal, many have trees, rainbows or flowers or other elements of the natural world, but even these have character. The 5 of swords shows a wilted rose, it's flowery bloom appearing to be bent in sorrow. The artwork is so out of the box and yet so accurate, which is of course why this is a bestselling deck.



The guidebook is huge, and is separate from the deck rather than coming in the box, and it is brilliant, as it is simple, concise and informative. There is no waffle in here, and yet everything you need to know is contained within. The descriptions of spreads are informative and inspiring, though a bit limited (I've yet to find a book full stop that teaches all the paths through the Celtic Cross spread). The guidance Krans gives is personal and sound. From her explaining why she has decided not to include reversed meanings in the cards, to the actual meanings as she has written them, her explanations are consistently fair and clear, and also accurate. It's also written by Kim just as Kim, giving you guidance in her own voice, like listening to a real human being. This is something I love!



Overall, this is a deck which is ideal for personal use. It isn't a great deck to study with, as it lacks esoteric symbolism and also lacks traditional card meaning "cues". But if you want a deck to read for yourself and friends, that gives beautiful and intimate and spot on readings, this is ideal. The Wild Unknown is an ideal deck if you aren't really a "reader" but want a deck and to read for yourself, using a book. It's also great for more experienced readers. I hope you enjoy it!

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page