top of page
  • motherserpentine

Deck Review: The Forest Fae

Updated: Dec 26, 2022

By Nadia Turner, 2021

Rockpool Publishing


Admittedly, I've gone off oracle decks over the years. I used to adore them, finding comfort and wisdom in their words. But nowadays, I find them basic and interpretative and never find much that is "groundbreaking".


So this deck is special.

I don't know why, but it stood out to me. Maybe it's the beautiful pallette, or the whimsical and enchanting world captured, in sublime hand painted beauty, in each card? Or maybe it's the imaginative world that Nadia Turner has tapped into, with a dark and natural edge, reminiscent of Brian Froud.



The 40 cards are super dainty, about the size of a credit card (but longer) making them super portable! They are glossy, sturdy, and shuffle well. and come in a sturdy box which snaps shut with a magnet. There's no book, but then why would one be needed?



This is a glorious little deck. I love it, and find that my clients and even children who swing by my stalls are drawn to these.


The characters are alive, with their own innate personality shining through. She of the Mossy Brae, the Green Man and the Spiny Sister greet you from the cards. The meanings are neither here nor there; but the imaginative world you can drop into with this deck is rich and enchanting.



These are super cheap online too. My advice would be, grab them, for yourself, or as a gift whether for a child or adult. Then, let the characters loose in your wild mind, sparking joy and inspiration as they play!!



11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page